LMS comparison by Personal Academy·Verified 19 Oct 2026

TalentLMS Alternative:Personal Academy

Personal Academy is an enterprise-ready learning platform designed for organizations with 10 to 500+ learners who need modern LMS capabilities without punitive tier cliffs or hidden enterprise fees.

TalentLMS (Active users, sold in user brackets): Core from $119/mo, Grow from $229/mo, Pro from $449/mo (each plan’s entry bracket; brackets run up to 801–1,000 users; 20% off on yearly billing) Personal Academy delivers one published price per active user from $1 per active user with SAML 2.0 SSO, SCIM directory provisioning, PostgreSQL Row Level Security, and auditable AI metering included on every paid tier.

No Band Cliffs

The 41-User Problem: Price Your Headcount

TalentLMS sells user bands, so the 41st person moves you into the next band. Personal Academy charges per active user: enter your headcount to see the exact price.

Billing
The Structural Flaw

Bracket Pricing

TalentLMS prices by user bracket: the advertised $119 a month is the Core plan’s 1–40 user bracket, and the price rises as you move up brackets (talentlms.com/prices, checked 19 Oct 2026).

With bracket pricing, crossing a bracket boundary raises the monthly price for everyone, whether or not the new seats are used; the per-bracket prices beyond the entry bracket sit in the vendor’s plan picker rather than on the page. Personal Academy bills per active user with no brackets: 42 active people are billed as 42, never as a bracket.

Personal Academy vs TalentLMS

Comparing Personal Academy with TalentLMS across core capabilities.

Evaluation MetricPersonal AcademyTalentLMS
Pricing basisPeople who signed in that month, counted one by one, no brackets
Unique users who log in each month, sold in brackets (1–40, 41–70, 71–100 … 801–1,000)
Enterprise SSO (SAML/OIDC)SAML and OIDC single sign-on on every paid plan
Listed on Core, Grow, Pro and Enterprise, not on Free (talentlms.com/prices)
SCIM user provisioningSCIM 2.0 user provisioning and deprovisioning on every paid plan
Not mentioned on talentlms.com/prices
Tenant isolationEach organisation’s data is isolated by restrictive row-level security in the database
Not publicly documented
AI allowanceEvery AI activity has a published credit price; bring your own model key on Premium
Fixed allowance per plan; upgrade the plan to get more (talentlms.com/prices)
Audit logAppend-only audit log the database refuses to edit or delete, kept at least 365 days
Not publicly documented

Capability by capability

CapabilityTalentLMSPersonal Academy
Pricing and platform
Per-active-user pricing (no brackets)
Sold in user brackets (1–40, 41–70, 71–100 … 801–1,000)
You pay for people who signed in that month, counted one by one
AI course drafting from your own documents
Not stated on TalentLMS’s public pricing page
Drafts a course outline from your own documents (PDF, Word, PowerPoint, text or a web page) for you to review; lessons use 28 block types
Learning in Slack and Microsoft Teams
Not stated on TalentLMS’s public pricing page
Learn inside Slack and Microsoft Teams on paid plans
Database-level tenant isolation
Not publicly documented
Each organisation’s data is isolated by restrictive row-level security in the database

Competitor information from public sources, checked 19 Oct 2026. Verify current terms before buying.

When TalentLMS is the better choice

No single LMS satisfies every organization. We believe in total transparency:

  • •You have five or fewer people: the Free plan has no time limit and needs no card.
  • •Your team requires pre-packaged off-the-shelf course libraries (e.g. TalentLibrary) ready on day one.
Source: https://www.talentlms.com/prices (Data read 19 Oct 2026).

How to move from TalentLMS to Personal Academy

The steps most teams take; how long they take depends on how much content you bring.

  1. Step 1

    Export your courses and user list

    Export the SCORM packages you own and your user list from TalentLMS.

  2. Step 2

    Connect single sign-on and provisioning

    Connect your identity provider with SAML or OIDC single sign-on and SCIM 2.0 provisioning (every paid plan), so learners are created for you.

  3. Step 3

    Upload packages and turn on chat

    Upload your SCORM 1.2 packages to the sandboxed player, then connect Slack or Microsoft Teams (paid plans) so learners get assignments and quizzes where they already work.

Frequently asked questions

How does Personal Academy avoid TalentLMS’s bracket pricing?

TalentLMS sells each plan in user brackets (1–40, 41–70, 71–100 and so on up to 1,000), so crossing a bracket boundary raises the monthly price for everyone (talentlms.com/prices, checked 19 Oct 2026). Personal Academy charges a published price per active user, counted one by one, so 41 active people are billed as 41.

Can we import SCORM courses from TalentLMS?

Yes. SCORM 1.2 packages exported from TalentLMS play in Personal Academy’s sandboxed player.

14-day Full Feature Free Trial

Upgrade from TalentLMS without the enterprise tax

14 days of Premium with 5,000 AI credits. No card required. Afterwards you stay on Free until you choose a plan.

No credit card required. Instant account setup in under 60 seconds.